OBD / OBD-II Diagnostic Trouble Code Database

A DTC is made up of 5 digits. The figure below demonstrates the composition of a OBD-II Diagnostic Trouble Code.

Enter OBD-II
Diagnostic Trouble Code


OBD-II Diagnostic Trouble Codes Explained


OBD-II codes consist of a number of parts. Below is a breakdown of what each digit of the code means:

First Character - System - The first character identifies the system related to the trouble code.

P = Powertrain
B = Body
C = Chassis
U = Undefined

Second Digit - Code Type - The second digit identifies whether the code is a generic code (same on all OBD-II equipped vehicles), or a manufacturer-specific code.

0 = Generic (this is the digit zero -- not the letter "O")
1 = Enhanced (manufacturer specific)

Third Digit - Sub-System - The third digit denotes the type of sub-system that pertains to the code

1 = Emission Management (Fuel or Air)
2 = Injector Circuit (Fuel or Air)
3 = Ignition or Misfire
4 = Emission Control
5 = Vehicle Speed & Idle Control
6 = Computer & Output Circuit
7 = Transmission
8 = Transmission
9 = SAE Reserved
0 = SAE Reserved

Fourth and Fifth Digits - These digits, along with the others, are variable, and relate to a particular problem.

OBD-II Connector and Pinout Diagram